KMD - Mr. Hood
Mr. Hood (1991) is the first album by KMD, Daniel Dumile's first group. It was a precursor to Black Bastards (1993). The album featured samples from language-learning tapes, cut together to create the character of Mr. Hood. It was rereleased by Traffic Entertainment Group in 2004 after being unavailable for several years and was listed at number 98 in Pitchfork Media's Top 100 Albums of the 1990s.
Release Date:
Elektra Records
(Bonus Tracks, Producer(s))

1. Mr. Hood At Piocalles Jewelry / Crackpot (2:49) (KMD)
2. Who Me? (With An Answer From Dr. Bert) (3:30) (KMD)
3. Boogie Man! (3:47) (Stimulated Dummies)
4. Mr. Hood Meets Onyx (2:13) (KMD)
5. Subroc's Mission (4:00) (KMD)
6. Humrush (3:24) (Stimulated Dummies)
7. Figure Of Speech (3:43) (KMD)
8. Bananapeel Blues (3:54) (KMD)
9. Nitty Gritty (5:34) (KMD)
10. Trial 'N Error (4:08) (KMD)
11. Hard Wit No Ho (3:48) (KMD)
12. Mr. Hood Gets A Haircut (1:17) (KMD)
13. 808 Man (3:52) (KMD)
14. Boy Who Cried Wolf (3:35) (KMD)
15. Peachfuzz (3:59) (KMD)
16. Preacher Porkchop (2:42) (KMD)
17. Soulflexin' (3:52) (KMD)
18. Gasface Refil (Bonus Track) (3:40) (KMD)



* "Mr. Hood at Piocalles Jewelry"/"Crackpot" Contains a sample of "Superman Lover" by Johnny Guitar Watson
* "Who Me? (With an Answer from Mr. Bert)" Contains a sample of "I Turned You On" by The Isley Brothers
* "Boogie Man!" Contains a sample of "Itchy Brother" by The Nite Lighters
* "Subroc's Mission" Contains a sample of "4 O'Clock in the Morn' Hour of the Wolf" by The Hassles
* "Figure of Speech" Contains a sample of "Monkey See, Monkey Do" by Le Pamplemouse
* "Bananapeel Blues" Contains a sample of "H20 Gate Blues" by Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson
* "Nitty Gritty" Contains a sample of "The Nitty Gritty" by Shirley Ellis ft Hutch Davis Orchestra & Chorus and also Contains a sample of "Push It Along" by A Tribe Called Quest
* "Hard Wit No Hoe"  Contains samples of "I Know You Got Soul" by Bobby Byrd, "Mambo No. 5" by Soul Samba, and "Potholes in My Lawn" by De La Soul
* "808 Man" Contains a sample of "Magnificent Sanctuary Band" by Donny Hathaway
* "Peachfuzz" Contains a sample of "You Can See Forever" by OC Smith and also Contains a sample of "The Sounds of Goodbye" by OC Smith
* "Gasface Refill" Contains a sample of "Chick A Boom" - Pazant Brothers and the Beaufort Express

More Pictures:
(Click for larger)