Metal Fingers - Special Herbs, Vols. 4, 5 & 6
Special Herbs, Vols. 4, 5 & 6 is an album of instrumental works released by Daniel Dumile under the Metal Fingers moniker. As with the other installments of the Special Herbs series, each track is named for a herb (or similar flora) or herbal preparation, with the exception of "Coffin Nails" which could refer either to a slang term for tobacco cigarettes or literally to nails from coffins, which have been traditionally used in conjunction with certain herbs in the performance of ceremonial magic rituals.

The album's title is slightly misleading, in that it is not an entirely new volume: the second part of the previous installment in the Metal Fingers series (confusingly also called Special Herbs, Vol. 4 but also commonly known as Special Herbs, Vols. 3 & 4; it is this latter "Volume 4" that is duplicated), appears again here as the first eight tracks of Vols. 4, 5 & 6. The difference in record labels on which the various albums were released explains this anomaly, similar to the earlier doublings of Vol. 2 and Vol. 4. After this volume, the numbering of the series becomes more consistent, and there are no such overlapping tracks.

The original artwork for both the CD and vinyl versions contained depictions of Marvel Comics' Dr. Doom character (from the Fantastic Four). The original album with this artwork is now deleted but can surface from time to time on online auction sites. An updated cover was created for the album featuring MF Doom's own face.
Release Date:
November 24, 2003
Shaman Works
(Bonus Tracks, Producer(s))

1 Blood Root (2:07) (Metal Fingers)
2. Star Anis (2:52) (Metal Fingers)
3. Lemon Grass (2:47) (Metal Fingers)
4. Four Thieves Vinegar (3:28) (Metal Fingers)
5. Galangal Root (3:50) (Metal Fingers)
6. Spikenard (3:38) (Metal Fingers)
7. Cinquefoil (2:46) (Metal Fingers)
8. Hyssop (2:33) (Metal Fingers)
9. Pennyroyal (3:11) (Metal Fingers)
10. Lavender Buds (3:05) (Metal Fingers)
11. White Willow Bark (4:24) (Metal Fingers)
12. Orange Blossoms (1:59) (Metal Fingers)
13. Coffin Nails (2:55) (Metal Fingers)
14. Kava Kava Root (4:07) (Metal Fingers)
15. Valerian Root (4:53) (Metal Fingers)
16. Jasmine Blossoms (2:58) (Metal Fingers)
17. Black Snake Root (3:43) (Metal Fingers)
18. Horehound (3:07) (Metal Fingers)
19. Dragon's Blood (4:06) (Metal Fingers)
20. Myrtle Leaf (5:16) (Metal Fingers)
21. Patchouly Leaves (3:46) (Metal Fingers)



* "Galangal Root" Contains a sample from "Walk on By" by Isaac Hayes, from the album Hot Buttered Soul and Always (Atlantic Starr song) by Atlantic Starr, from the album All In the Name of Love.
* "Spikenard" Contains a sample from "Ain't No Price on Happiness" by The Spinners, from the album Mighty Love.
* "Cinquefoil" Contains a sample from "Space" by Galt MacDermot
* "Coffin Nails" Contains a sample from "Space Oddity" by "David Matthews", from the album Dune
* "Kava Kava Root" Contains a sample from "Cat" by "Teruo Nakamura", from the album "Rising Sun"
* "Valerian Root" Contains a sample from "Do it Again" by New Birth, from the album Comin from All Ends.
* "Jasmine Blossoms" Contains a sample from "Sweet Love" by Anita Baker, from the album Rapture.
* "Dragons Blood" Contains a sample from a vintage Spider-Man episode entitled, "The Devious Dr. Dumpty"
* "Patchouly Leaves" Contains a sample from "Our Day Will Come" by Isaac Hayes, from the album ...To Be Continued
More Pictures:
(Click for larger)