Metal Fingers - Special Herbs, Vol. 1
Special Herbs, Vol. 1 is the first album in the Special Herbs series of instrumental works released by Daniel Dumile under the Metal Fingers moniker on various independent hip hop labels. Establishing the trend for later albums in the series, each track is named after a herb or similar flora (with the possible ironic exception of mass-produced flavour enhancer monosodium glutamate).

Because the Special Herbs albums were released on various labels, the nine tracks of Vol. 1 appear again as the first nine tracks on the following album, Special Herbs, Vol. 2.
Release Date:
Female Fun Records
(Bonus Tracks, Producer(s))

1. Saffron (3:24) (Metal Fingers)
2. Arrow Root (3:45) (Metal Fingers)
3. Zatar (3:14) (Metal Fingers)
4. Fenugreek (3:22) (Metal Fingers)
5. Sumac Berries (3:34) (Metal Fingers)
6. Coriander (3:03) (Metal Fingers)
7. Shallots (4:00) (DJ Subroc)
8. Charnsuka (2:19) (Metal Fingers)
9. Monosodium Glutamate (2:40) (Metal Fingers)


Trivia: Limited pressing of 2000 copies.


* "Saffron" Contains a sample from "Hogin' Machine" by Les Baxter, from the Hell's Belles soundtrack.
* "Zatar" Contains a sample from "Been So Long" by Anita Baker
* "Monosodium Glutamate" Contains a sample from "One Hundred Ways" by Quincy Jones, from the album The Dude.
More Pictures:
(Click for larger)